How does one overcome a case of cotton wool brain

This is going to be a very brief post, one that includes an apology for my absenteeism and one that expresses all the possible well-wishes for the next 364 days.

The reason I was not able to communicate for the past two weeks is because I was deprived of a stable Internet connection while travelling around what must be one of the most beautiful countries in the world, New Zealand (in Maori Aotearoa).

I did carry a suitcase full of intentions and ideas to write on this blog, but as the days went by a somewhat unexpected kind of bodily rhythm began to take over and I could not find the strength to pull my early morning writing sessions or come up with anything worth writing about.

This is my second time in New Zealand, I should have been wiser and should have been prepared. The first time was exactly the same. I believe what it is, is that such an overwhelming standard of natural beauty produces what could be considered a numbness of the brain that prevents any neurons from conducting the type of activity the brain is accustomed to. It literally does feel as if your brain is being stuffed with cotton wool. A very pleasant feeling that comes with important side effects like an embarrassingly permanent dropped jaw, usually wide open eyes and an unhealthy admiration for the simplest things in life like ships and more ships, cows, horses and ducks that appear to so perfectly fit in such a stunning scenery. Plus you can’t stop yourself from acting like the worst stereotype of a tourist, camera in hand, stopping in places you shouldn’t stop to take photo after photo.

As soon as I recover and I’m able to get my brain back to a more or less functioning level, I’ll be back.

For now, I just want to wish you all a very prolific and happy year and leave you with some of the images I took from a very humble iPhone.

Queenstown, Waikatipu lake
Queenstown, Waikatipu lake
Waikatipu lake

Waikatipu lake

View from Ben Lomond peak

View from Ben Lomond peak

Milford Sound, Fiordland National Park

Milford Sound, Fiordland National Park

Blue Pools, Makarora, Mount Aspiring National Park

Blue Pools, Makarora, Mount Aspiring National Park

3 thoughts on “How does one overcome a case of cotton wool brain

    • Hi Subhan, long time no see!! I hope you are well! Yes, NZ was unbelievable, totally loved it, but now we are back to the scorching Australia summer and work, that´s why my brain is fried! But I´ll be back soon with more posts and ideas. How about you, what are your plans for the new year??? 🙂

      • Good to hear that the holiday was great. Be careful, the bush fire is now raging in NSW, I just heard on ABC. Hope you and your husband is fine! It’s very hot and windy here in Canberra, in fact the way to Bungendore is closed due to recent bushfire, and I have just turned on the fan. LOL

        My plans? Hmmm… Surviving 2013? Hehe 🙂

What are your thoughts?

